The Dispatch | Expert | Scudo Hub

Get help & share your Citroen Dispatch (Jumpy) | Peugeot Expert | Fiat Scudo tips

You are not logged in.

#1 2019-11-25 13:19:22

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

HI all i have a fiat scudo and the brakes have stuck on been told its the rod from the brake pedal to the servo can any body shed any light on this matter ??

Offline

#2 2019-11-25 14:19:07

vaz2121
Member
From: SW. Scotland
Registered: 2015-08-31
Posts: 727

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

I'm confused ..........
What exactly have you been told about the rod from the brake pedal to the servo............
Has something changed about it ?.........

As its always been there and I'm presuming worked fine before as it's just a connecting rod..........

Offline

#3 2019-11-25 14:47:23

Happy camper
Member
Registered: 2019-09-19
Posts: 11

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

I had the same problem with mine it turned out to be badly adjusted back drums I jus got it off the floor took the wheels off and give the drums a good old fashion talking to with a lump hammer not stuck anymore and no problem since

Offline

#4 2019-11-25 15:35:46

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

there is a rod that goes from the brake peddle across the bulk head to the servo and by the looks of things mine has been sticking for awhile but standing for two weeks went down the road in it and the brake peddle comes back up but is not doing anything because the rod is stuck and keeping the brakes on

Offline

#5 2019-11-25 16:01:29

Casper
Member
From: East Lothian
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 1,424

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

The rod is attached to the pedal. If the pedal is returning then the rod is not stuck in. Might be the master cylinder sticking. I think you better get another mechanic. You will be pissed off buying and fitting a new servo just to find out the problem still exists.

Offline

#6 2019-11-25 16:37:19

Casper
Member
From: East Lothian
Registered: 2015-12-20
Posts: 1,424

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

Casper wrote:

The rod is attached to the pedal. If the pedal is returning then the rod is not stuck in. Might be the master cylinder sticking. I think you better get another mechanic. You will be pissed off buying and fitting a new servo just to find out the problem still exists.

Ah right. You are posting in the Mk1 section. Due to distance of pedal and engine bay im thinking the Mk2 has some form of link rod. This could explain what your mechanic is on about.  Quick ebay search throws up this


https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2824-2007-1- … SwlAZab2P3

Offline

#7 2019-11-25 17:13:01

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

yes that may be it the pedal will still come up because its spring loaded but the bar bit will stay in as it is seized and will keep the brake on . I have ordered a Haynes manual . is there to sections to this site one for the mk1 and one for the mk2 ??

Offline

#8 2019-11-25 17:17:31

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

that link was very useful

Offline

#9 2019-11-26 23:17:11

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

has any body changed the brake servo link bar on one of theses ??? looks like I am going to have too what joys

Offline

#10 2019-12-02 12:18:19

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

Hi all brakes sorted on my scudo did it on saturday if any of you have the same problem give me a shout

Offline

#11 2019-12-02 13:57:32

Tiree
Administrator
From: Galloway
Registered: 2013-09-20
Posts: 266

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

Good work smile ... What was the fix ... ?


2006 Citroen Dispatch 2.0HDi bought in July 2013 - Partial camper conversion ........

mini_citroen-dispatch2.jpeg

Offline

#12 2019-12-03 11:22:31

boothy
Member
Registered: 2019-11-25
Posts: 7

Re: brakes stuck on fiat scudo 2010

well to do it the easy way . you have to remove the glove box carpet and soundproofing. Then you can see a dome in the bulk head and this is were the sized part is . you have to cut around the dome pull it back to get access , then you can see the part which is connected to the servo . you then take the link part of push the sized part out clean it all up grease it and put it all back together . i didn't weld the dome back up i just put some self tappers and some big washers on to fasten it then put  some sealant round to make sure no sound from the engine could get through .put every thing back , like a new one happy days. i suppose i should have videoed or taken pictures and posted them on here.

Offline

Board footer