The Dispatch | Expert | Scudo Hub

Get help & share your Citroen Dispatch (Jumpy) | Peugeot Expert | Fiat Scudo tips

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-04-24 06:26:19

CrlyWrly
Website

Minimum Cooking Facilities - Legislation and Guidance

Please see the Topic I started in 1996-2006 Vans > Camper Conversions:

Camper Conversions» DVLA Clarifies Motor Home minimum cooking facilities: one ring not two

Best wishes,

Liz

Fiat Scudo 2006 Campervan
mini_2017-03-24-Scudo-collage-1000x1000.jpeg

#2 2019-11-12 11:36:20

Oldboy

Re: Minimum Cooking Facilities - Legislation and Guidance

Hi Liz

Thanks for your tenacity digging out whats required as a minimum when converting a van to a camper, well done! I'm just starting out on a simple camper conversion, and will only need to boil a kettle within the van, preferring to cook outside when on site. As an aside when looking for a van I noticed that several professional vans had one one ring from new, now I see the reason why!!!
Mick

#3 2019-11-12 16:26:55

tee_cee

Doubt if it makes a lot of difference now that they are adopting a new policy of not re-registering
see https://dispatchexpertscudo.org.uk/foru … php?id=829

#4 2019-11-12 21:23:06

CrlyWrly
Website

Thank you for that update tee_cee. What a mess the DVLA has got itself into with the revised guidance!

This seems to be the nub of it - in a DVLA response to an FOI request:

"Whilst the internal specifications of a vehicle which has been converted as a 'Motor caravan' are
easily defined, when describing the external appearance DVLA applies a 'reasonableness test' which
is based on how someone would describe the vehicle in traffic or if parked on the road i.e. if you saw
a Ford Transit with a window for example would you describe it as a 'van' or a 'motor caravan'? 
As a result DVLA has reviewed the use of the body type descriptor ‘motor caravan’ in conjunction
with the Police to ensure it accurately describes vehicles externally. The Police fully support the